Crucible of War (The American Patriot Series, Book 4)

Romance, Christian Books

By J. M. Hochstetler

Publisher : Sheaf House Publishers

ABOUT J. M. Hochstetler

J. M. Hochstetler
The daughter of Mennonite farmers, I grew up in the Kokomo, IN, area and graduated from Indiana University with a degree in Germanic Languages. I am a publisher, a professional editor, and a lifelong student of history. I am also the author of the American Patriot Series, the only accura More...


Brigadier General Jonathan Carleton rejoins General George Washington’s army to find the patriot cause on the verge of extinction. Against all odds, in a daring gamble the American force crosses the Delaware River during a raging nor’easter to attack the Hessian outpost at Trenton. While Elizabeth Howard anxiously waits for news of the outcome, the American force wins a stunning victory, then fights the British to a draw at Princeton before vanishing into the mountain bastions around Morristown.  


Returning to New York, Elizabeth is drawn ever deeper into the dangerous intrigues that swirl around General William Howe—and the increasingly passionate attentions of Dr. Pieter Vander Groot, who allegiance now belongs to the rebels. When Carleton is forced to take the doctor prisoner, Elizabeth and her aunt move to Philadelphia to wait for Howe’s attack on the city.   With the Americans digging in at Brandywine Creek, Carleton is betrayed by a trusted aide and comes within a hair’s breadth of being captured. Washington orders him to the upper Hudson Valley, where a force commanded by British General John Burgoyne closes in on Saratoga.


With decisive battles looming on all fronts, Elizabeth and Carleton are once again torn from each other’s arms, and this time they will face a crucible of war and trial that will test their mettle and their love to the very limits--and beyond.

“Historic. Romantic. Riveting. Rich and multi-layered, Crucible of War is the epic continuation of an unforgettable series. Joan Hochstetler gives us a rare glimpse into America's past, leaving the reader enriched and wanting more. I highly recommend this amazing book and series!” —Laura Frantz, author of The Colonel's Lady and Love's Reckoning


“J. M. Hochstetler weaves a tapestry rich in detail, a riveting story of adventure and intrigue in a time when men and women made choices that wrenched the heart, but honored God. An engaging new chapter in the on-going saga of how an enduring nation—and an equally enduring romance—were forged in the Crucible of War.” —Lori Benton, author of Burning Sky


“We have given this series to all of our family so that they will understand the foundation of this country and the freedoms they enjoy. If you haven’t read it yet, you should. You will relive the sacrifices, romances, and pain experienced by past patriots. You will understand what you have benefited from when you experience this trip through history as written by Joan. It is historically accurate fiction, and a very engaging and interesting read. I can’t wait for the next book to come out!” —John E. Anderson, SGM Ret., U.S. Army Intelligence & Communications Command


“I did not think J. M. Hochstetler could keep her readers riveted through seven books in her American Patriot Series, but she is doing it with such stunning storytelling that her characters are becoming bigger than life, just as Margaret Mitchell achieved with Scarlet O’Hara and Rhett Butler in Gone with the Wind. Today’s military wives can relate to Elizabeth and Jonathan’s longing to be together and despair at parting. Here is an opportunity for Americans to become reacquainted with their nation’s agonizing birth and the stout-hearted people who made it possible. J. M. Hochstetler has captured this period magnificently. Her battle scenes rage, her love trysts wrench your heart. And her writing achieves literary pinnacles.” —Bonnie Toews, author of The Consummate Traitor and Communications Command