Vodou Shaman: The Haitian Way of Healing and Power
Publisher : Inner Traditions/Bear & Company
Description

Goes beyond the stereotypes to restore Vodou to its proper place as a powerful shamanic tradition

• Provides practical exercises and techniques from the Vodou tradition that can be used as safe and effective means of spiritual healing and personal transformation

• Shows how to remove evil spirits and negative energies sent by others

• Written by a fully initiated Houngan (Vodou shaman)

Providing practical exercises drawn from all aspects and stages of the Vodou tradition, Vodou Shaman shows readers how to contact the spirit world and communicate with the loa (the angel-like inhabitants of the Other World), the ghede (the spirits of the ancestors), and djabs (nature spirits for healing purposes). The author examines soul journeying and warrior-path work in the Vodou tradition and looks at the psychological principles that make them effective. The book also includes exercises to protect the spiritual self by empowering the soul, with techniques of soul retrieval, removing evil spirits and negative energies, overcoming curses, and using the powers of herbs and magical baths.





Praise and Reviews
"Here he outlines the tradition's core beliefs and highlights the striking similarities between Vodou and other traditional healing arts."
Jennifer Kuncken, Library Journal, February 2004, Vol.129 No.1 

"Ross Heaven's new book . . . give(s) us a more complete look into this mysterious tradition."
Prediction, March 2004, Vol.70 No.3

"This stands out as one of the most articulated well-intentioned Vodou guidebooks available."
Publishers Weekly, November 2003, Vol.250 No.45

"Vodou Shaman presents a very specific guide focusing on haitian healing and power rituals."
The Midwest Book Review, June 2004


"A groundbreaking book that will contribute to the knowledge, diversity, and healing in this world. Ross Heaven writes with heart and wisdom about a true return to the spirit."

Kristin Madden, author of Pagan Parenting and Shamanic Healing



"It is so often in the places we least expect it, that we find the deepest spirituality. Vodou, the least well known, most feared and even most ridiculed form of shamanism, is one of those places. In this must-read book we find a pragmatic way of being in spirit; one desperately needed as we face the challenge of living in this time of great change."
Dr. Eve Bruce, M.D., F.A.C.S., medical doctor and author of Shaman, M.D.

"Ross Heaven does for Vodou what Castaneda did for shamanism. With so many sacred ways and cultures dying out, it is wonderful that one of the world's oldest oral traditions is recorded here by an authentic wisdomkeeper."
Tania Ahsan, editor of Prediction magazine

“Ross Heaven is a modern sage. In his book Vodou Shaman we not only learn about Vodou and experience its powers firsthand, we also pass through portals to higher levels of consciousness.”
John Perkins, author of The Spirit of the Shuar

“Vodou is a very beautiful and practical spiritual approach to experiencing the power of other worlds. Through Vodou Shaman ordinary people will discover how to empower themselves in the most extraordinary ways.”
Howard G. Charing, director of the Eagles Wing Centre for Contemporary Shamanism and author of Medicine for the Soul

"The experience of Vodou is one of joy, dance, drums, and song. It is an experience that enables all of us to connect with our spirits and the infinite power of the universe. This practical book is a valuable guide to how we can all achieve joy in our lives."
Amoda, author of Moving into Ecstacy

"I am delighted to offer my support for this book, which is in the tradition of Maya Deren and Claude Planson, Caucasians who have discovered infinity in the African spirituality. Ross Heaven is enriching our understanding of the psyche and wisdom of humanity by going into the primeval source of our worldview."
Dr. Reginald O. Crosley, medical doctor and author of The Vodou Quantum Leap




 
Ross Heaven
Ross Heaven is a therapist and workshop leader in personal development and healing whose books include Vodou Shaman, Darkness Visible, Spirit in the City, and The Journey to You. H More...
Other Book(s) By Ross Heaven