Lucifer's Drum
Publisher : Pine Badge Press
Description

One hundred and fifty years ago, a large Confederate force marched down the Shenandoah Valley and then headed for the Union capital. What happened next remains one of the great what-ifs of American history. "Lucifer's Drum" wraps this epic historical drama in a tale of blood, terror and suspense. June 1864: On a lonely road in the Shenandoah, federal agent Nathaniel Truly intercepts a horse-drawn carriage. What he discovers inside it sends him and his young partner Bartholomew Forbes on a quest to solve a string of ghastly murders. Meanwhile, ominous bits of intelligence point to a disaster-in-the-making: General Jubal Early’s Confederate host is set to invade Maryland and strike at Washington, D.C. Even as Truly and Forbes connect the murders to a scheme that will ensure the capital’s downfall, skeptical superiors leave the pair to struggle alone. The scheme, they learn, involves a brilliant and elusive Southern spy––but as Early’s vengeful troops close in on the weakly garrisoned city, another dire fact takes shape: the spy has allies in Washington, individuals so lethal that he himself fears them, though they are essential to carrying out his secret plan. The darkness of the case threatens to consume the widower Truly, along with those he holds dearest––his son Ben, a lieutenant leading a company of black troops; his de facto adoptive daughter Sapphira, plucked from an auction block and spared an awful fate, now frustrated with the limits of her existence; his daughter Anna, radiant and frivolous, enthralled with a suitor who Truly can scarcely tolerate. Their fates, along with that of an entire country, will soon be swept into the merciless vortex of "Lucifer’s Drum." Readers who enjoyed Caleb Carr's "Alienist" novels or E.L. Doctorow's "The Waterworks" will devour this one.



The Story Behind This Book
ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTY YEARS AGO, A LARGE CONFEDERATE FORCE MARCHED DOWN THE SHENANDOAH VALLEY AND THEN HEADED FOR THE UNION CAPITAL. WHAT HAPPENED NEXT REMAINS ONE OF THE GREAT WHAT-IFS OF AMERICAN HISTORY. OUT OF IT COMES AN EPIC STORY OF BLOOD AND SUSPENSE. June 1864: On a lonely road in the Shenandoah, federal agent Nathaniel Truly intercepts a horse-drawn carriage. What he discovers inside it sends him and his young partner Bartholomew Forbes on a quest to solve a string of ghastly murders. Meanwhile, ominous bits of intelligence point to a disaster-in-the-making: General Jubal Early’s Confederate host is set to invade Maryland and strike at Washington, D.C. Even as Truly and Forbes connect the murders to a scheme that will ensure the capital’s downfall, skeptical superiors leave the pair to struggle alone. The darkness and depravity of the case threaten to consume the widower Truly, along with those he holds dearest–his son Ben, a lieutenant leading a company of black troops; his de facto adoptive daughter Sapphira, plucked from an auction block years before, now frustrated with the limits of her existence; his radiant daughter Anna, enthralled with a suitor who Truly can scarcely tolerate. All their fates–and that of an entire nation–will soon be swept into the merciless vortex of "Lucifer’s Drum."

Media Mentions

Praise and Reviews
"Invigorating...MacKinnon keeps the plot moving...An epic novel in which the historical and thriller elements enrich each other."   --Kirkus Reviews

Author Interviews

Buy

Related Links
 
Bernie MacKinnon
My family moved to the U.S. from Canada when I was ten. After that I lived mostly in Maine and graduated from the University of Maine at Orono. My first two novels ("The Meant More...