Shattered Secrets (Book of Red #1)
Publisher : Curiosity Quills Press
Description

"A highly entertaining and fast paced read. Ideal for fans of authors such as Jennifer L. Armentrout." ~Lynsey Taylor @ The Demon Librarian

After being kidnapped, hogtied, and stuffed in the trunk of a car, seventeen-year-old Abigail Nichols' boy problems seem unimportant.

She couldn't be more wrong.

The boy who saves her holds her heart. But Derick Crawford also holds secrets.

Magical beings who guide human emotions are fighting an invisible war dating back to the dawn of time, and Abigail's one of them. The more she learns of her heritage, the less she wants to know.

Armed with a very old, very massive book to teach them about their history, Abigail and Derick run away to a place where they think they can be safe and happy, only to have their troubles secretly hitch a ride.

Her history book is in a sharing mood, and it tells her to keep a secret of her own. But has she put her trust in the wrong place?

And will the world survive if she has?


BOOK TRAILER


The Story Behind This Book
Shattered Secrets came to me while reading another author's work. She described a scene in a chocolate shop that resonated very strongly with me. The more I thought about this shop, the more I saw my own characters in a coffee shop, enjoying their friendship, the smells, the warmth, and then my dark imagination took over and destroyed it all with a broken friendship and a kidnapping. What can I say? Sunshine and butterflies only lasts so long.


Praise and Reviews

"There is enough confusion, twists, turns, trust issues as well as what might be a slightly dodgy advice giving book to make this book absolutely absorbing." -- Merissa Sheppard, Archaeolibrarianologist

"The intriguing plot, detailed world-building, and clever teen voice made this a page-turner. Krystal Wade expertly weaves the fine line of making YA entertaining for both teens and adults. Her heroine Abby is not only relatable, but a believably strong and independent character - she's smart without the aleck, naive without being stupid, and vulnerable without being a damsel in distress. Adding in a little mystery, some plot twists, and um, totally hot guys makes SHATTERED SECRETS a winner!" -- Jen Estes, YA Author


Author Interviews

Buy

 
Krystal Wade
Krystal Wade can be found in the sluglines outside Washington D.C. every morning, Monday through Friday. With coffee in hand, iPod plugged in, and strangers--who sometimes snore, s More...
Other Book(s) By Krystal Wade